The Original Pancake Kitchen – Open 24 hours day – Supplying Adelaide with pankcakes since 1965! 51 Years
Superman, resident ghost (Murphy) and more! Stories from Julie, Mike and Carol Forshaw.
“The idea for a Pancake Restaurant was first conceived in 1959 while Roger Meadmore and Allan Trascall were on a driving trip in America. They would frequently stop at road side restaurants where pancakes were a favourite on the menu”….
“A new chapter started at The Pancake Kitchen with the first Adelaide Festival of Arts. The idea for opening 24 hours a day was put forth. This was for several reasons, they were finding that with the festival on the afternoon shift were finishing work at 3-4am in the morning and the day shift were starting at 5am in the morning, so they decided to just stay open.. The milk shift was created, midnight to 8am (it was called the milk shift because the milk would always be delivered on this shift, and it still is today). After the festival had finished the Adelaide people liked the idea of having somewhere to supper after hours that the milk shift (known to us as the milky) became a constant thing and it still it today.”
West End Stories: The Adelaide West End Association in partnership with The Media Resource Centre, are proud to present 2 more short films in an ongoing series of short documentaries highlighting iconic business in Adelaide’s West End.
These films are produced through the Media Resource Centre’s Seniors on Screen program, and tell the story of The Original Pancake Kitchen (50 years on Gilbert Place) and Alec’s Hairdressers (Leigh Street 41 years) and the stories of their owners.
Our West End is going through a period of significant change and the AWEA is proud to celebrate these individuals and business that have contributed to the unique quality of this part of Adelaide.
Contact: Helen Page via email@example.com